276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Cleopatra and Frankenstein: ‘Move over Sally Rooney: this is the hottest new book’ - Sunday Times

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Either described as poignant and relatable or shallow and pretentious, this debut novel from Coco Mellors feels like the personification of an Instagram filter—something that simultaneously enhances and yet covers up reality. I sometimes loved, and sometimes hated all the characters in this one: the title pair who marry mere months after meeting, and their eccentric circle of pals. The book that was on every Instagram grid and mind for the past year was a debut novel from Coco Mellors.

Part of me longed to get to the bits where her quirky personality hit the pages and her relationship with Frank was seen through, because that is what they both deserved. i like flawed and unlikeable characters, but there was something about the way it was written here that did not work for me.

Mellors also does not have the ability to make her insufferable characters compelling like Moshfegh.

I overall highly recommend this book to anyone looking for something that will make your heart warm and shattered at the same time. a PERFORMANCE of the greatest sentences, the greatest off-the-wall absurdities, the greatest exaggerated character descriptions…. It's the latest in a string of literary fiction pieces that I've read that feel aspirational to that title. they're all self-absorbed immature people who cannot empathise with others and cannot think of anybody but themselves.

For readers of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends, an addictive, humorous, and poignant debut novel about the shock waves caused by one couple's impulsive marriage.

I think Coco Mellors created characters that are more likeable, with added depth and more interesting stories and plot lines that kept me so much more engaged throughout the story.She offers him a life imbued with beauty and art-and, hopefully, a reason to cut back on his drinking. Whilst Frank feels indebted to help his sister who has been cut off but is plagued with illness and the need to feel something. But it brings all the stuff that irks me about Rooney— hipster millennials having endless navel-gazing pseudo-intellectual conversations about themselves and the universe —and misses out the key component that, for me, makes Rooney as engaging an author as she is irritating. To access your ebook(s) after purchasing, you can download the free Glose app or read instantly on your browser by logging into Glose. the characters themselves were selfish, self-pitying fools (derogatory) without one redeeming quality at all.

The writing has potential , there were some funny moments and I enjoyed her description but this book has no idea what it’s doing. However, with this comes a feeling that the characters which fill the pages in this book, cannot truly be written about in any sort of depth, because there are just too many of them. And also, in addition to this, there was a character I loved so much that I cried through her chapters (of which there are only two), an insanely earnest and vulnerable moment the likes of which has never occurred to me ever. I am not a Sally Rooney fan, even after reading a number of her books; I really tried to understand the hype but I just can't quite get there.so although there were interesting elements in the story, it felt disconnected and inconsistent with everything else that was going on. Whether that’s my want to like the female protagonist which has been engrained in me since I was young, or just the nature of the novel, is yet to be decided.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment